Town news

Parts of Bluffton Sees Flash Flooding

   On Tuesday morning, parts of Bluffton were consumed with water as Riley Creek flooded due to large amounts of rain over the past several days. One of the most noticable waterlogged areas in town was along Vance Street, where the canines housed at TLU Rescue needed to be evacuated to safety by members of the Bluffton Fire Department. Much of the flooding, however, had receded by the evening. With more rain expected in the forecast, it's a "wait and see" game if the high water rears its ugly head again soon.

Cemetery, Alley Vacations Still at the Forefront of Council Meetings

by Ron Geiser   Two of the items causing the most interest recently at Bluffton Village Council meetings – vacation of alleys and Shannon Cemetery – vied  for attention at Monday night’s meeting at Town Hall.
   It was standing room only again at the third floor council chambers as each topic drew a variety of speakers and opinions. But it was old Shannon Cemetery (SC), that long ignored, abused ancient burial ground that “no one” cared about that has literally brought “caring” people out of the woodwork in recent weeks.

GOBA Coming to Bluffton

   The people at Columbus Outdoor Pursuits, the founders of the Great Ohio Bicycle Adventure (GOBA), should hire Liz Harner, co-owner of CG Pro Bikes, as their public relations person because her enthusiasm for the event is positively infectious. She gushes with information regarding this 27th anniversary of the GOBA event.
   Liz, her husband Raymond, and Fred Steiner are co-coordinators for the event which will pass through Bluffton on Sunday, June 21.  Raymond calls the event,  “a big party for everyone for Father’s Day.”

Book Published by BU’s Lion and Lamb Peace Center Makes Magazine’s “Outstanding” List

   A children’s book published last fall by The Lion and Lamb Peace Arts Center of Bluffton University has been named as one of this year’s 25 outstanding books by “Skipping Stones” magazine.
   “Swords to Plowshares: The Creation of John P. Klassen’s Mennonite Central Committee Medallion” has received a 2015 Honor Award from the international literary magazine for youth.

Syndicate content